Beaded Box Stitch Shawl Crochet Along – Swatch it up!

LOC_BeadedBoxStitch_200
The Beaded Box Stitch Shawl, Summer 2015

I was so excited to start the Beaded Box Stitch Shawl crochet along that I couldn’t resist making my gauge swatch early this morning. The unique square stitch pattern was calling to me, and I simply had to dive right into it. Plus, since I’ve worked with CoBaSi before, I was eager to get my hands on this awesome yarn!

BBS - yarn
CoBaSi by HiKoo

While I’ve been known to skip my gauge swatch when it comes to shawls, I decided to follow the rules this time and swatch it up. I’m glad I did because my gauge was quite a bit looser than the pattern requires, and the fabric was much too “floppy” for my taste when I used my G hook.

I ended up going all the way down to a C, and that got me pretty close. Just for fun, I tried a steel size 2 (2.25mm), and my gauge was spot on!

While it may be a little tedious to use such a small hook, it’ll be worth it to get the gorgeous drape and finish of the original sample. Since the yarn plays such an important role in this project, we’re offering it in a handy kit to make your fiber selection easy! The Beaded Box Stitch Shawl kits include all the yarn and beads necessary to crochet this fun accessory, as well as a complete copy of the Summer 2015 Issue. That’s a phenomenal added value!

Now that I have my gauge figured out, I’ll crochet my starting chain later on today. You still have plenty of time to order your kit and join me in this fun project! I’m looking forward to seeing pictures and updates on your Beaded Box Stitch Shawl!

Leave a comment