Beaded Box Stitch Shawl Crochet Along – Making progress!

My Beaded Box Stitch Shawl is coming right along! It’s now about 20″ long, and I’m starting to imagine it with some of my favorite warm weather outfits.

LOC_BeadedBoxStitch_200I’ve been playing around with different ways to work the chain 3 at the beginning of each short row within the squares. I started out working the chain 3 as usual, but I found that it left a bit of a gap before the double crochets. I know it’s best to be consistent throughout a project, but I couldn’t resist experimenting a little. Plus, the difference is pretty subtle so I think I’m the only one who will notice.

BBS - 2I found that my favorite way to fake a chain 3 without leaving a gap is to work a single crochet and a chain 1. I find that this mimics a double crochet better than the usual chain 3, so I’m going to stick with this technique from here on out.

Do you know any other tricks for faking a chain 3 for a row of double crochet? We’d love to hear what you do. Also, we’d love to hear updates about your shawl! If you haven’t joined in on the fun yet, you can order your Beaded Box Stitch Shawl kit today and start making this fun project soon!

Leave a Reply

