Lacy crochet patterns – It’s time for spring stitching!

I know we still have several more weeks of winter, but the weather here in Colorado keeps teasing us with gorgeous sunny days and temperatures in the 60s and 70s! That is why I’ve decided it’s officially time for spring crocheting. I’m super excited about the Spring Issue of Love of Crochet, which hits newsstands on March 24th, but I need something to hold me over until then.

To me, spring crocheting is all about lace because the gorgeous designs in the openwork create a fabric that is just right for warmer weather. If you’re also ready for some spring stitching (and a little selfish crafting), these lacy garments and accessories will keep you happily occupied until spring officially arrives.

Portland

The gorgeous motifs on the Portland Tunic, from the Holiday Crochet 2014 Issue, are the perfect way to welcome spring flowers! This brilliant design is topped off with trendy slits at the shoulders, making it fun and youthful. If the slits aren’t your thing, it’s easy to omit them by simply seaming the shoulder completely.

Golden Grace

If you’re in the mood to make a quick and lacy spring accessory, the Golden Grace Wrap, from the Winter 2014 Issue of Love of Crochet, is ideal for an elegant night out. This pattern is surprisingly easy, and I’m curious to try it in several different yarns since it works up so fast. The sparkly mohair yarn in the photo is amazing, but I’m also thinking of a cool cotton for a more casual look and maybe a sequined or beaded yarn to make it even more glamorous.

Sandpiper

I’ve had my eye on the Sandpiper Tunic, from the Spring 2014 Issue for a while now. The subtle cowl neckline would look fabulous with either professional slacks or comfy jeans, and the lace pattern is simpler to create than it looks. I’m a sucker for designs that work just as well at the office as they do on the weekends.

Coral Blooms

The Coral Blooms Scarf, also from the Spring 2014 Issue, is a lace lover’s dream come true. The stitch pattern creates sections of delicate flowers alternated with segments of lattice lace to form a light and airy scarf you can wear indoors or out. I usually like to switch up the colors when I crochet a pattern, but this bright and fun hue is calling my name.

Have you started spring crocheting yet? Are you as infatuated with lace as I am? We love hearing from you, so tell us what you’re working on here or on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

