Modern Baby Crochet – Sweet Tweeter is finished!

I am excited to announce that I’ve finished my (daughter’s) Sweet Tweeter from Modern Baby Crochet! This little guy worked up in a flash, and my only delay was waiting for the squeaker to arrive at my doorstep. I’m glad I waited though, because it makes this darling stuffed animal even more fun!

Sweet Tweeter done
All finished!

I made a couple tweaks to the pattern based on the materials I had available. First, the pattern calls for worsted weight yarn, but I fell in love with the teal color of this easy-care DK weight. To make it work, I held the yarn double and used an I hook instead of the H suggested in the pattern. My change worked out nicely, and I love the finished fabric on my birdie.

Also, since I was stitching the yarn from both ends of the skein, I ran out just before the end of the pattern. I had another ball of this same yarn, but since I was so close to being finished I decided that my Sweet Tweeter would simply have a tail that is 4 rounds shorter than the pattern calls for. I think his little tail is pretty cute!

There are several other projects from Modern Baby Crochet in my queue, and I will definitely be making them in the near future. I love how the patterns in this book are cute, bright, and more contemporary than your typical baby patterns. Don’t get me wrong – I adore pastel ruffles and motifs, but it’s nice to switch it up once in a while.

Do you crochet lots of projects for kids or babies? What types of baby projects do you like to make? Do you ever adapt or adjust a pattern to fit your needs? Tell us your experiences here or on Facebook. We can’t wait to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

