Novice Mittens Crochet Along – Gauge swatch(es)

LOCW_NoviceMittens_200

We are starting our winter crochet along, the Novice Mittens, today! It has been downright frigid here, so I’m excited to stitch up some darling mittens to keep my hands warm. That’s right – I’ve decided to keep these mittens for myself. After all the holiday crocheting I did over the last few months, I think my hands deserve a treat.

Novice mittens- balls with coverI had a bit of trouble getting the correct gauge for these mittens, and I ended up making 3 different gauge swatches. First, I started with a G hook like the pattern calls for, but my stitches were much too loose. I went down to an F, but had the same problem. Finally, I tried an E hook, which worked perfectly!

Thankfully, the gauge is measured in double crochets, and all 3 swatches went quickly. Plus, making them gave me a fantastic excuse to play with this heavenly yarn!

I’ll crochet my starting chain later on today, and I’m hoping to get a fair amount done over the weekend. If your hands can use a treat after the rush of holiday crafting, join me in making these sweet mittens! The luxurious Rimu DK yarn by Zealana is a terrific way to reward your hands for finishing all of those gifts. Get your Novice Mittens kit to experience this soft yarn for yourself, and join me in this fun crochet along!

Leave a Reply

