Coming soon – Novice Mittens Crochet Along!

The first official day of winter is on Sunday, and while it has been cold here in Colorado for a while now, actually seeing it on the calendar has made me even more excited for this magical season. To me, mittens are the quintessentially cute winter accessory, so I’ve picked the Novice Mittens from the Winter 2014 Issue of Love of Crochet as our winter crochet along!

LOCW_NoviceMittens_200I’ll crochet my starting chain on Friday, January 2nd, and I hope you join me in making this adorable pair. The pattern uses 2 skeins of Rimu DK by Zealana, and this yarn is heavenly! It is slightly fuzzy, and it has the perfect mixture of softness and sturdiness because of the blend of merino wool and brushtail possum fiber. That’s right – I said possum, and you NEED to feel how wonderfully soft this luscious fiber is!

You can get all the yarn you need to make these luxurious mittens, as well as the pattern, in your Novice Mittens kit. While I loved the red mittens photographed in the magazine, I chose the frosty blue color because it’s delightfully wintery. There are six fun hues to choose from, so you’re sure to find the perfect color. Order your kit today so you’ll be ready to make this fun project with me!

Have you ever crocheted with possum yarn? Tell us your experiences here or on Facebook. We love connecting with you and nerding out over fiber together, and we can’t wait to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

