Crochet pattern remix – My miniature Olive Twist Shawl

I fell in love with the Olive Twist Shawl when Kathy made it as our summer crochet along. I made a swatch of the first 7 rows (the trickiest rows!) for our free Olive Twist picture tutorial, and Kathy’s shawl was SO beautiful that I decided to keep going and turn my swatch into an actual accessory.

Olive Twist 200

The trouble I ran into was that I only had one skein of the yarn I used for my swatch. I was sure to save enough yarn to work the edging, but when I was finished, my project measured only about 26″ wide at the top edge – not nearly wide enough to wrap around my neck or shoulders securely. I was disappointed and at a loss, so I fastened it off and let it sit on my end table for a long time.

Olive Twist fltat
Toggle closure placement

That is, until I came across JUL’s Leather Toggle Closures! I’m not exaggerating when I say that one of these closures saved my project. It went from a lonely (but gorgeous) piece of fabric to a cool kerchief in a matter of minutes.

JUL back
Back of toggle closure

The toggle closures screw on through the openwork or between the stitches in your fabric. They are simple to attach and remove, so you can change the placement as many times as you like. You can even move them from accessory to accessory to give other scarves, cowls, shawls, or bags a fun new closure and design element.

Olive twist remixI used a wool and acrylic blend for my miniature Olive Twist Shawl, so it’s surprisingly warm considering how lacy and open the fabric is. It has been a little chilly here, so I’ve been wearing this fun little bandana a lot, and I like it just as much as I liked the original version. If you want to crochet the Olive Twist Shawl but don’t have enough yarn, this pint-sized adaptation might be just what you need!

Do you often adjust or remix crochet patterns to fit your needs? Tell us whether or not you’re a pattern tweaker here or on Facebook. We can’t wait to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

