Christmas Tree Trio Crochet Along – Deadlines affect my gauge

I just finished the small and medium trees of my Christmas Tree Trio! These cute decorations work up so quickly, I might have time to make more than I had hoped. I’ll be giving these sets as gifts this holiday season, so I am definitely crafting on a deadline this time.

Christmas Tree Trio - all trees done

After making the cone sections of the trees, I slipped them onto my Floracraft foam cones to see if they fit. For some reason, my small tree seemed a tiny bit snug with the cone inside, and the foam showed through more than I wanted. My gauge was spot on when I checked it, but maybe the pressure of crocheting on a deadline caused my stitches to tighten up by the time I got to the small tree. To fix this, I took a sheet of sandpaper and carefully sanded off a thin layer of my small foam cone. Bits of foam flew around for a moment, but I wiped the cone off and slipped my tree back on. Now it fits perfectly!

My next step is to string my beads onto the Cascade Ultra Pima to make my garlands. Have you ever crocheted with beads before? If you’re new to this technique, this pattern is a fantastic introduction because the garlands are made with a simple chain. It doesn’t get any easier than that!

How is your Christmas Tree Trio coming along? Share your progress with us here or on Facebook, and be sure to follow us on Instagram to share photos! If you haven’t started this fun set yet, get your Christmas Tree Trio kit today and join me in making these festive decorations!

Leave a Reply

