Crazy for Cowls

When it comes to knitting and crochet projects, do you play favorites? While I make my fair share of hats, toys, and even the occasional afghan or sweater, I’ve realized that I definitely have a favorite type of project. I am a cowl-aholic.

I like cowls because they are pretty quick to make and you can often wear them indoors and show them off all day long. They’re great for dressing up a plain shirt because they almost act like cozy yarn necklaces! These same wonderful qualities make them fantastic gifts as well, so keep them in mind as you’re planning your holiday crafting.

If you’re also crazy for cowls, check out a few fun projects in my crafting queue.

JCL_LOK_140521-5246_200px

Knitters, have you seen the Eternal Knot Cowl? The knot motifs are created with easy slipped stitches and symbolize friendship, so this pattern would be an amazing way to show a dear friend how much she means to you. I’m trying to decide which colors I want to use. What colors would you choose?

JCL_LOK_140520-4773_200px

I’m also a big fan of the Cinched Rib Cowl. This one will be easy knitting, but the cool smocked sections give it a little something special. If you’ve never wrapped stitches like this, our handy wrapped stitch tutorial will walk you through the process. The wraps highlight the different colors in the yarn, so a variegated yarn is perfect for this pattern.

Moonstone Cowl

Crocheters, can we take a moment to drool over the Moonstone Cowl together? I love how the diamond stitch pattern is both lacy and substantial. You can get completely different looks depending on the yarn you select, so this design is really versatile. It has been especially cold here in Colorado, so I’m leaning towards a worsted weight yarn to make my cowl a little cozier while still keeping the delicate look.

JCL_LOK_140428-1875_200px

Since it has been so chilly, the cozy texture of the Nottingham Cowl has been calling my name. The popcorn stitches are worked in a chunky yarn to make it extra plush, and it’s big enough to wear as a hood as well. I can’t wait to wrap myself up in this design!

If you haven’t gone crazy for cowls yet, I am officially inviting you to take the plunge! Do you have another favorite type of project? Share your thoughts with us here or on our Facebook page. We can’t wait to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

