Christmas Tree Trio Crochet Along – Magic loop mania!

I made some good progress on my Christmas Tree Trio set over the weekend, and I have one tree down, two more to go! Like I mentioned last week, I started with the bottom section of the large tree so I could check my gauge. My gauge changes depending on my mood, so I wanted to be sure.

Christmas Tree TrioThe first step in each section of the trees is an adjustable ring or magic loop. I have a love/hate relationship with the magic loop technique because I love the neat look it creates but find the process kind of finicky. Thankfully, it goes by quickly and eventually becomes second nature. If you’re new to this technique, have no fear! Our free adjustable ring tutorial will walk you through each step.

First, you’ll make a large loop by wrapping your yarn around your fingers. Make sure your working yarn is in the back and your yarn tail is about 4″ long. Take your hook, draw the working yarn through the large loop, then chain 1.

Now you can work the indicated number of stitches into the large loop. Pull your yarn tail to tighten up your loop. At this point, I think it helps not to tighten the loop all the way until you’ve worked the first stitch of your next round. Then, you can pull the tail to tighten it the rest of the way and continue with your next round!

I love how this technique eliminates the hole at the beginning of the project. If you don’t want to use an adjustable ring, you can also chain 2, work the indicated number of stitches into your first chain, and continue the pattern from here. You may have a slight hole in the center, but in many cases it won’t be noticeable.

Large tree bottom

Large tree

My adjustable ring went smoothly and quickly, and then I whipped up the bottom of my large tree. My gauge was spot on, so I kept using my H hook and crocheted the cone section. I slipped it onto my foam cone to test it out, and it fits perfectly!

This week, I’m going to make the small and medium-sized trees before starting any of the garlands. If you haven’t ordered your Christmas Tree Trio kit yet, you still have time! With the kit, you’ll be sure to get the right sized cones, and you won’t have to worry about finding all of your materials. I’m all about easy, trouble-free crafting!

What about you? Have you finished your large tree yet? We love hearing from you, so be sure to let us know how your Christmas Tree Trio is progressing!

Leave a Reply

