Help! I’m crazy for crocheted cables!

Have you ever found a technique or stitch that absolutely steals your heart? Right now, I’m smitten with crocheted cables, and I can’t get enough of them! There are so many variations to try, so I keep making swatches to test them out.

Crochet cableI usually make my cables using post stitches because there are so many ways you can work them. Check out this swatch I whipped up using front post double and treble stitches. I can’t decide what to make with this stitch pattern, but I’m head over heels for it!

I also wanted to play around with other ways to crochet cables, so I swatched up this variation using an easy technique of crocheting into skipped stitches. I love the diagonal ridges it creates, and this stitch would make a warm and cozy blanket worked in a bulky yarn like this one.

Rattan wrap cable

bubble gum twistIf you want to give crocheted cables a try (careful – they’re addictive!), take a look at these inspiring patterns. The Bubble Gum Twist hat from the Crochet More Issue is a fantastic way to test the waters because it can be stitched up in a day. These cables are created with front post double and half double stitches,  and they really make this hat stand out.

Simple cabled cardi

The Simple Cabled Cardi from the Winter 2013 Issue uses post stitches to create the ribbing and the stunning cabled design on the back. This would make a great everyday cardigan, and you can wear it all year round. I’m thinking basic black for mine, but what color would you choose?

Rattan wrap

Finally, the Rattan Wrap from the Fall 2014 Issue is the pattern that inspired my bulky swatch above. The cables on this design are created by crocheting into a skipped stitch to the right of the stitches just worked. On this wrap, the cabled pattern is worked in a lace weight yarn to create a more delicate look that still has plenty of texture. This design screams fall to me, and I’m dying to try this stitch pattern in a finer yarn.

Have you ever tried crocheted cables? Did you use post stitches, crocheting into a skipped stitch, or a different technique? If you haven’t taken the plunge yet, the Winter 2013 Issue has a super helpful Stitch Dictionary that will introduce you to three fun cabled stitch patterns. Give it a shot, then tell us about your experiences with crocheted cables here or on our Facebook page!

Leave a Reply

