Sonoma Shawl Crochet Along – Pesky puffs

I started my Sonoma Shawl on Friday the 19th – twice. This gorgeous accessory took me a couple tries to get going because I had some trouble with my puff stitches. However, I LOVE the textured look they create, so I was determined to get them right! After making a mess as I tried to work my first puff in row 3, I took a deep breath and decided to start again. After all, I wasn’t very far in. The second time, I pulled my loop up a little before beginning my puff, and this bit of slack made all the difference.

Here are a few photos of the puff stitch being worked in case it gives you the same trouble it gave me.

Sonoma begin puff

Slightly enlarge your loop before beginning your puff, then yarn over.

Sonoma puff 1

Continue following the instructions for this special abbreviation.

Sonoma puff

Yarn over and draw through all of the loops. You’ve made one puff stitch!

Sonoma H hook
Worked with an H hook

I began with an H hook, as suggested in the pattern, and the result is very pretty. However, after I got through row 10 of the pattern (during my second attempt), I measured my gauge and found that it’s a bit too loose. I’m currently trying to decide between continuing with my H hook or trying a smaller one. The fabric is beautiful as is, but the crisp stitch definition of the original sample is awfully tempting.

What would you do if you were me? Are you making the Sonoma Shawl too? You still have plenty of time to join us, and we’d love to see pictures of your work-in-progress! Share them with us on Facebook or Instagram so we can make this stunning fall accessory together!

Leave a Reply

