Paris, here I come! Olive Twist Crochet Along is finished!

I have finished my Olive Twist shawlette (now a shawl), and it came out great! I’m really happy with the size and glad I stopped when I did. The pattern was really easy to follow, and who knows, maybe I will make another one for someone else. The final size of my shawl is 93” wide and 50” tall.

I noticed that my shawl definitely came out a little more open and airy than the one in the image for the pattern, and then it occurred to me — the dreaded gauge. I will admit right now, I just looked at the gauge in the pattern. I had looked at it when I first started, however, I completely forgot about it as I started working the pattern. The gauge for the pattern is 4 rows = 3″ (8cm). I had Jamie help me figure out what my gauge was, and it looks like my 4 rows equal about 3.5 – 4 inches. It still looks really nice, but it is a little more open than the original. Whoops.

20140801_093347mistake_smI did notice one other, itty-bitty mistake in my very last row when I was pinning it to block. It looks like in one stitch I did the 3 hdc, but then forgot to finish with the ch 2 and the next 3 hdc. I stared at it for a while, either hoping that A) It would magically fix itself if I stared at it long enough, or B) I could just accept my defeat of that one stitch and be proud of my accomplishment of the rest of my shawl. I chose B. It was a devastating feeling, but I decided to just go with it—no one will ever know. Well, except me and everyone that may be reading my blog post. You guys won’t tell, right?

While I was laying my shawl out on the floor to block, I had a million little pins holding it out which caused my husband to freak out a little. He was worried the kids, who are 11 and 8 years old, would wake up early and start playing/walking/running/jumping by it or on it, therefore causing a possible run to an urgent care center or just a lot of loud screaming and crying. So, I solved the problem by posting a sign to inform the aforementioned children of the dangers lying ahead. Since we didn’t hear any crying and/or screaming, I’m going to assume it worked.20140727_074922-blockingsm

20140801_092647~2_finalI love my shawl and cannot wait to wrap it around me as I make my way to London and Paris in a few weeks! This crochet along was super fun and I hope you enjoyed it too! I would love to see photos of your Olive Twist shawl. If you didn’t get to follow along, you can still purchase the kit online and make your own!

Leave a Reply

