The end is near… and it’s not so bad

20140722_082256smI think I have finally reached a point in my Olive Twist shawlette that I feel is a good size. I’ve been showing the gals here at work how it fits, and we’ve all agreed that it’s probably a good time to stop. If I go any further, I risk having a triangular blanket instead of a shawl.

I’ve definitely made a few mistakes along the way, but managed to find them when I wasn’t too far into the next row. It still wasn’t fun to rip out the row, but if I didn’t, I knew it would end very, very badly. Since I’ve been working the same pattern, I am able to quickly find the mistake and start again.

shutterstock_163101590smThe shawl at this point is really beautiful—lacy, open, and very drape-y. I’m already imagining how it will look with my travel outfit, and if I’m imagining it right, then I will be the envy of everyone at the airport and they will all race over to me to find out where I bought it. Only then will I turn to them with my proud smile and say, “I made it.” I can already picture me flinging it over my shoulder as I walk along the Champs-Élysées. The shawl will just match the scenery of Paris so well, I’m pretty sure everyone will just assume I’m Parisian. Well, except for my really bad French accent…

How is your Olive Twist shawlette coming along? Or, have you finished yours already? We always love seeing what our readers make, so please feel free to share with us! If you didn’t get a chance to follow the Crochet Along and still want to make an Olive Twist shawlette, the kits are still available online. Make sure to download the Technique Tutorial as well to help you out!

Leave a Reply

