Inspiring Tunisian crochet patterns and resources

Lately, we here at the Love of Knitting and Love of Crochet office have been talking a lot about learning new skills. As a crochet enthusiast, I feel like I’m long overdue for learning Tunisian crochet. I tried it once a while back, but I kept gaining or losing stitches on my hook and ended up with a wonky semi-square.

As I’ve been searching for my first real Tunisian crochet project, I’ve come across some true gems of information on this fascinating technique. After seeing all of these great patterns and resources, I am fairly confident that Tunisian crochet will become my new obsession for a bit. If you’re looking for some info to fuel your passion for Tunisian crochet, check out these inspiring books, articles, and patterns.

LOC Fall 2013If you are a Tunisian newbie like I am, our Fall 2013 Issue of Love of Crochet has an incredibly helpful Beginner’s Guide just for you. This is basically Tunisian crochet 101, and I am currently devouring this fascinating article to gather a bit of knowledge before I begin.

English Wool CardiganAfter I get comfortable with the Tunisian simple stitch, I’m excited to try a few different stitches and incorporate them into my crafting. The Beginner’s Guide in our Winter 2013 Issue of Love of Crochet is an informative how-to featuring twisted stitches, extended stitches, and Tunisian knit and purl stitches. This same issue features the gorgeous English Wool Cardigan, worked in bulky yarn for a Tunisian crochet project you can finish in a flash.

LOC Summer 2014If you want to add some color to your Tunisian crochet projects, grab our Summer 2014 Issue and check out the Beginner’s Guide to Tunisian Crochet Color Changes. This awesome article explains 4 different ways to change colors using this technique, and the effects created by these color changes are simply beautiful! After reading the article, check out the Ocean Breeze Placemats and Coasters for a perfect practice project.

Tunisian baby blanketsTunisian crochet is also called the afghan stitch, and this technique is a fun way to make – you guessed it – afghans! Get your copy of Tunisian Crochet Baby Blankets, a fabulous book that will keep your hook happily busy for a long time, and make stunning gifts for the kids (and adults) in your family.

With so many wonderful choices, I certainly have my work cut out for me as I pick my first Tunisian crochet project. However, perusing all of these fabulous resources has truly inspired me and given me the confidence I need to learn this beautiful technique. Have you tried Tunisian crochet? Which Tunisian patterns or skills are you eager to try?

Leave a Reply

