Crochet Along – Olive Twist–Get Into the Groove!

So, I am finally on a roll with my stitch pattern for the Olive Twist shawlette… once I started paying attention to the text. I did, however, manage to mess up another row. I know, I know—shocker. Just FYI, if you don’t know already—on the odd rows with the [1 hdc, ch 9, 1 hdc] and shell stitches, you need to end on the shell stitch before the corner in order for the pattern to work because after you [1 hdc, ch 9] 3 times in the corner, you have to do the shell stitch again. Row 7 is where I messed up on that one. I didn’t do the [1 hdc, ch 9, 1 hdc] after chaining 10 and turning, so I only had one loop at the beginning of the row. As I was working through this with Jamie, our associate editor, she pointed out that this could be the problem. As she was holding the ch 10 loop, she said, “I think this guy needs a little buddy.”  I love easy-to-understand crochet vernacular such as this. Now, every time I get to an odd row, I remember “this little guy needs a little buddy” to keep me on track!

20140624_083815_row18smI’m up to row 18 now, and I’m feeling good! I really feel like I am (finally) getting into the groove of this pattern and can figure out when I’ve made a mistake.

I actually got more yarn for my shawlette than the pattern required, so my shawlette will be a little larger. I loved the pattern but wanted it to wrap around more. I’m planning to bring it with me on a trip in August, and I can’t wait to get to the edging and see the finished product. Hopefully, everything will work out and when everyone sees my fabulous shawl, they will want to make one too!

How is your project coming along? I hope you haven’t struggled as much as I have so far! If you do need some help, I’ve included a link for a Technique Tutorial for this pattern to help you out! If you haven’t started yet, there is still time to get your Olive Twist shawlette kit and start crocheting this beautiful project with us!

Leave a Reply

