Crochet Along–All done!

I have finished my Raspberry Tart Scarf from Love of Crochet’s Winter issue and I have to say it is quite gorgeous. Well, except for the part where I unintentionally went rogue.

Sigh.

Row3-4_Side2_CAM00063I realized as I was reading the directions for row 5 for the second half of the scarf, something wasn’t making sense. I referred back to the stitches I created in row 5 from the first half, and that’s when it hit me—I added some extra stitches. I checked the chart and sure enough, instead of adding just one single crochet in the middle cluster, I added single crochets between the clusters. It definitely took a few minutes to get past my “stunned” stage before I could think about what I should do next. I was only one row away from completing the scarf, so I definitely wasn’t going back. I accepted my defeat of row 5 and moved on.

20140414_100933_resizedDoing these extra stitches created wavy edges to my scarf instead of a flat, smooth edge. No big deal, but I was really hoping to make it look just like the original in the pattern for my first Crochet Along, but alas, it just wasn’t meant to be for this pattern. Maybe I am meant to free-style for the rest of my crochet life, but I don’t give up that easily. My next Crochet Along is already calling my name, begging me to try again. Look for the project in Love of Crochet’s Summer issue, on sale May 27!

Leave a Reply

