Marathon Crochet Weekend!

It was a marathon crochet weekend for me, as I was super busy trying to whip out some projects for a non-profit called Project Valentine.  I managed to crochet three hats and two scarves, with one scarf still in progress. I’m hoping to finish it this week.

projectvalentine-crop

Project Valentine’s mission is to “make life a ‘little sweeter’ for individuals undergoing cancer treatment in the Denver metro area.” They create care packages, which are assembled and hand-delivered each year to people undergoing cancer treatment on or around Valentine’s Day. My sister and I had the privilege of learning about them after our mom received a Valentine care package from them during her chemotherapy treatment in 2006. It affected my sister so much, she started volunteering with them and is now a prospective board member.

Any time I can find time to crochet is great, but it’s even “sweeter” when I can do it to help others.

How about you? Do you donate your knit or crocheted projects to a charity?

Leave a Reply

