Crochet Along – Convertible Cashmere Sweater – We’ve finished our gauge swatch!

The Crochet Along we’ve chosen for our Holiday 2013 Issue will truly be a treat to make and wear. The beautiful Convertible Cashmere Sweater was designed by Lisa Gentry, and we can’t wait to get started on it! This holiday season, we encourage you to spoil yourself or someone you love with this gorgeous garment, and crochet along with us as we make it together.

cashmere yarn

The yarn used for this project is Cashmere by LB Collection, and it is such a treat to work with. I’ve chosen color 098, Natural, but there are an array of beautiful colors to choose from.

Convertible cashmere gauge swatch

I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this heavenly soft yarn, so crocheted my gauge swatch as soon as we received it. I ended up using a smaller hook than the pattern suggests to achieve the correct gauge of 4″ for 3 petals and 12 petal rows, and I think my sweater will fit perfectly. You can see that I worked 2 rows of single crochet at the bottom of my swatch to mimic the actual pattern. Since I’m using a smaller hook for the petal pattern, I will also use a smaller hook for the single crochet edging.

I’m super excited to start the back of my sweater over the weekend! What about you? Will you be making your Convertible Cashmere Sweater for yourself or as a thoughtful gift for someone you love? What color did you choose?

Leave a Reply

